Top designs in 64 categories are honoured in the 2021 BDAA Annual National Design Awards, an annual presentation of the Building Designers Association of Australia that acknowledges and heralds the most sustainable, functional and eye-catching designs created this year by the esteemed designers and—for the first time this year–the TPA assessors of the BDAA.

The 2021 BDAA National Online Design Awards, broadcast online live 22nd October at 5pm AEDT, acknowledged all award winners in residential, commercial, industrial, institutional and other categories.

 Some of this year’s top winners are:

Adam Hobill’s The Treehouse was the Overall Winner of this year’s BDAA Annual National Design Awards, which claimed the National Design Excellence Award. The design takes inspiration from childhood experiences building treehouses and expresses the challenges and joys of make-shift structures assembled from whatever second hand and leftover materials could be sourced.

The results were commonly very raw, textural and creative expressions of materials presented in their natural condition, displaying their unique character.

In the Treehouse, that expression of materials is seen in the suspended polished concrete floor and is highlighted by the use of OSB formwork to create a textured ceiling finish to the rooms below. The same approach to off-form concrete is also seen in external feature walls and planter boxes. The raked ceiling in the open plan living room is finished in randomly sized timber lining boards as another gesture of the casual nature of treehouses.

The home has been arranged over three levels meld into the sloping site. Upon entry at the mid-level, the home connects immediately with the rear terrace and swimming pool, which has been located to ensure it does not detract from the prime northern outlook to the tree canopy, yet is still well connected to the adjacent living spaces. The master bedroom sits at this level and enjoys morning sun and overlooks the pool.

National Design Excellence Award – Overall winner  Adam Hobill “The Treehouse”

The open plan family, dining and kitchen is the focal point in the design and has been placed at the upper level and arranged so that the entire space accesses northern sunlight, with the view to the tree canopy showcased by 3.3m high glazing which also connects with a large deck.

Adam Hobill Design specialises in creative and thoughtful residential designs to complement each unique client brief. Their boutique design practice is known for bespoke building design services that are personable & professional as well as creating homes that are both functional and striking.

The Chris Reardon Memorial Award for residential sustainable buildings went to Warreeny by Ashley Beaumont; a home that functions as an exemplar of mainstream, environmentally sustainable design that’s affordable, cutting edge and functional.

The approach at Beaumont Building Design is characterised by their commitment to energy efficiency, sustainability and liveability.

Chris Reardon Memorial Award for residential sustainable buildings – Ashley Beaumont “Warreeny”

Adopting passive solar design principles to achieve optimum energy efficiency, they are actively involved in fundamentally shifting the way energy is produced and consumed.

Their focus is to help create a legacy of future sustainability.

The Rising Star Award is an inaugural honour in this year’s BDAA National Design Awards.  The Rising Star award is presented to an emerging, skilled designer showing impressive capability and contribution in their work and business. The Rising Star building designer creates the sustainable, functional and eye-catching design masterworks that distinguish our built environment and that form the foundation of our future in the Australian building industry. The premiere winner of this year’s Rising Star Award is principal designer of Art Decoline, Arman Gouniaei–the winner of the BDAA Student Design Award for his exceptional Violin House design.

Rising Star Award – Arman Gouniaei “Violin House”

The President’s Award recognises the significant voluntary contribution of a member to the Building Designers Association of Australia and Building Design industry to the industry and built environment they serve. This active and devoted volunteer goes above and beyond in making a real difference to the BDAA and the industry. The winner of this year’s inaugural 2021 President’s Award is Susan Jarrett, an accredited building designer and GreenSmart professional distinguished in the BDAA for her mentoring duties, development opportunities, accreditation assessments and committee memberships.

The Building Designers Association of Australia was excited to introduce two new awards categories this year to honour TPA entries for the 2021 BDAA National Design Awards. The competition honoured a vast spectrum of design types and featured two new categories: the Thermal Design Excellence Award, a category open only to ABSA accredited Thermal Performance Assessors, and the Collaboration Award. This category required one entrant to be an ABSA accredited Thermal Performance Assessor and the other to be a Chartered or Full Member of the BDAA. The winner of the Collaboration Award is Frank Geskus’ Trevallyn House. The Thermal Design Excellence Award went to Lite-House Albion by James Cross.

Other major honours went to Natalie Andersen’s Mosman Renovation for Residential alterations / additions over $600,000; Reece Keil’s Byron House for Residential Interiors; Keil’s Razor Blade House for Kitchen Design and Bathroom Design; Mark Davis’ Fogg House for Unbuilt Work; Lisette Marchant’s Reginald Drive Landscape for Landscape Design; George Brown’s Aldinga Arts Eco Village Community Centre for Student Design; Louise Williams’ Fishermens Wharf for Commercial Buildings; David Manche’s Moonacres Cooking School for Commercial Interiors; and Michael Biddulph’s Currawong Cottages Refurbishment Project for Heritage buildings/adaptive reuse.

For a full list of winners of the 2021 BDAA Annual National Design Awards, please visit here. Congratulations to our exalted winners!

Image credits by: Adam Hobill, Ashley Beaumont and Arman Gouniaei