On Tuesday the 16th of October, The Brisbane City Council approved the resumption of four Rochedale private properties on School Road.

The Brisbane Metro project is expected to cost $944 million and be operable by 2023. The metro will run over 21 kilometres with two new high-frequency, high-capacity lines. These lines with link Eight Mile Plains to Roma Street and Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital to the University of Queensland Lakes, as well as all the busway stations in between.

The first notices to the landowners were sent out on June 29th this year, and no one objected. As such, there is now the 4.5-hectare site at Rochedale is allocated for Brisbane Metro depot, and a further 1600 square metre lot located on Grey Street is needed to build the underground Cultural Centre station.

Adrian Schrinner, the Public and Active Transport Chairman, stated that the council would apply formally to the state government to finalise the property acquisition. According to Schrinner, the metro project has progressed in the infrastructure sector, with five different consortia putting in proposals for the $315 million underground station at the Cultural Centre, and for the construction of a tunnel beneath Adelaide Street in Brisbane CBD. Schrinner stated to the press that “The key construction firms that we would expect to be putting in proposals on this major project have shown a great level of interest and based.”

As of now, the applications are all progressing to the next Request for Proposal.

The Consortia bidding on this project include:

  • Brisbane Move Consortium, comprising Acciona Construction Australia Pty Ltd and Arup Australia Projects Pty Ltd;
  • Lendlease consortium comprising, Lendlease Engineering Pty Ltd and WSP Australia Pty Ltd;
  • MetroConnect consortium, comprising Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd, AECOM Australia Pty Ltd, and Aurecon Australasia Pty Ltd;
  • METRO4BNE consortium, comprising CPB Contractors Pty Ltd, Seymour Whyte Constructions Pty Ltd, Vinci Construction Grand Projets SAS, and SMEC Australia Pty Ltd; and
  • TransForm BNE consortium, comprising McConnell Dowell Constructors Pty Ltd, John Holland Pty Ltd, and GHD Pty Ltd.